Gravlax Pizza Bianca (White Pizza with Cured Salmon)

…inspired by the cuisines of Italy and Sweden, two teams playing in the UEFA EURO 2016 today.

I discovered salmon curing during my University year in Spain. It is so incredibly simple to make, and is best eaten on buttered bread. Or on white Pizza. Just replace the tomato sauce by Mascarpone. Add the cured salmon after you have baked the pizza. You do not want your hot pizza to cook fry the salmon, so let it just cool off a a couple of seconds. The warmth of the pizza will just very gently heat the salmon. A wonderful combination of crispy, creamy, sweet and salty. South meets north and they have a great time.

The pizza was actually prepared by my dear husband, following his secret recipe. All I can tell you about it is that he adds a little bit of spelt flour to make it taste more interesting. But you can use any pizza base you might prefer.

For the cured salmon, I like to cure it a maximum of 24 hours. I never get around to storing it anway.

Cured salmon ingredients: a piece of salmon side, 1 cup salt, 1 cup sugar, 1 small bunch dill
White pizza ingredients: pizza dough, mascarpone, mozzarella, cured salmon

Method:

  1. Wash your salmon, chop the dill.
  2. Mix the sugar, salt and dill.
  3. Cover the bottom of your container with the cure mixture, then place the salmon on top. Cover the salmon with the rest of the cure mixture. There should be no salmon poking out.
  4. Leave in the fridge for 24 hours. Rinse. Slice thinly off the skin.
  5. Make your white pizza. Roll out the pizza dough. Spread with mascarpone. Top with mozzarella slices. Bake.
  6. Take out your white pizza from the oven. Scatter the cured salmon slices over the pizza. Serve and enjoy.

 

Cooking the UEFA Euro 2016 theme

 My sister and I had been toying with the idea of cooking ourselves through the European Soccer Championships for a while. Now that I have time, I decided to follow up and it took me half a day to figure out when to cook what and according to which rule? Will it have to be two dishes from opponents in a match? Will I have to do six dishes a day to represent all teams playing that day? … . In the end, I arrived at the most simple strategy of “24 countries, 13 days – that makes roughly two countries per day”. Now to the food choices, some were easy, but some were pretty difficult (Albania? Never been there, never heard of its cuisine, how on earth am I going to cook something Albanian? And how am I going to make my children eat all that foreign stuff?).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ooh I never thought of adding smoked salmon to a pizza. Mouth watering!

Leave a Reply

