Spring rarebit with goat´s cheese and strawberries

…inspired by the cuisines of Wales and Switzerland, whose teams are playing in the UEFA EURO 2016 today.

I do not recall actually having eaten anything Welsh during my teenage hiking holidays in Wales. We did self catering, so I was the cook and we ate Hungarian dishes all the time. However, Welsh rarebit has been one of my first dishes to ever prepare, courtesy of my sister´s children´s cookbook.

As for Switzerland … same thing here, no culinary memories from the one day spent in Switzerland during an Interrail trip. I was not exactly able to afford a meal in a Michelin starred restaurant (Switzerland ranks ahead of France in the “Michelin stars per million inhabitants” category). Instead, I have an anecdote to share:

I was once invited to lunch by a Swiss friend´s family. After exchanging some pleasantries, I made the mistake of saying “the Swiss eat a lot of cheese”. The family members reacted with indignation about “such an unfounded cliché”. Subsequently, the mom went on to serve lunch. It consisted of steak with cheese au gratin, courgette stuffed with Mozzarella and baked potato with cream cheese!

I could not get myself to do melted hard cheese with the lovely warm weather we are having, so I adapted the cheese on toast recipe using goat´s cheese and some fragrant strawberries.

Ingredients: 4 slices of white sourdough bread, 150g goat´s cheese, 1 (small) egg, 1 large or 2 small spring onions, 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard, 4 strawberries, fleur de sel, pepper, olive oil

Method

  1. Finely chop the spring onions, separate white part from the green part.
  2. Taste your cream cheese. and add salt if unsalted ( I did not add any salt).
  3. Mix together the cream cheese, the egg, the white part of the spring onions and the mustard.
  4. Put your bread slices under the grill and brown them on one side only (about 3 minutes).
  5. Turn your bread slices. Spoon the cream cheese mixture on the untoasted side of your bread, then put them back under the grill for 3 – 4 minutes.
  6. Finish off with the reserved spring onion, sliced strawberry, fleur de sel, pepper and just a few drops of olive oil.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Oh my goodness, I HAVE To have this for lunch!

Leave a Reply

