Creamy milky rice with cherries

Milky rice is a regular feature on our school´s lunch menu. My son has been nagging me for ages to make some at home, so I served this as an afternoon treat for the children. I let them help themselves to sugar, cinammon and cardamom. Personally, I liked the plain version best, just topped with some very ripe cherries.

You need small-grain round rice for this one, which will release lots of starch for creaminess. Aim for a consistency between porrige and risotto.

Ingredients: 150g small grain round rice, 500ml milk, 1tsp vanilla sugar,2tbsp butter – to serve: powdered sugar or honey, cinammon, cardamom, pitted cherries

Method:

  1. Bring the milk to a simmer, then add the rice and the vanilla sugar. Stir well.
  2. Bring the rice back to a simmer, then cover and reduce the heat. Let the rice cook for 25 minutes. The rice should be totally soft and on the verge of disintegrating.
  3. Add the butter to the rice. Give it a vigorous stir for the rice to release its starches.
  4. Serve with sugar or honey, cinammon and cardamon to taste, alongside the pitted cherries.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Now rice pudding is one thing my kids just won’t eat!! I may have to try it again!

  2. I admit i wasn´t too keen myself (that´s why I never made any) … but I am happy I gave in to the nagging!

Leave a Reply

