Rhubarb Tart

This springtime treat is one of my children´s favourite, with no leftovers to reckon with.

I admit to not sticking to the standard recommendation of letting the pastry rest for half an hour in the fridge before rolling out. If I do that, I end up with a hard ball of dough that will cost me either superhuman powers to roll out, or, alternatively, I have to wait for another 20 minutes for the pastry to come to a manageable temperature again. So what I do is I roll out the pastry, tuck itnto my pastry tin and leave it in the fridge before pre-baking the pastry.

I used to peel my rhubarb which is a completely useless and unneccessary task that will simply rid you of the lovely pink colour.

 Ingredients: 200g plain flour, 100g butter, 2 tbsp sugar, 1 egg, 500g rhubarb, 150g sugar, 250g single cream, 2 eggs

Method:

  1. Mix the flour and sugar. Rub in the butter with your fingertips until you have all incorporated into something that resembles breadcrumbs.
  2. Add the egg and knead until you have a smooth pastry dough.
  3. Roll out the pastry dough and line your pastry tin with it.
  4. Leave in the fridge for 30 min.
  5. Preheat the oven to 180deg (fan).
  6. Prick your pastry case with a fork, line with baking sheet and weigh down with dry chickpeas (I have a glass of chckpeas I exclusively use for this purpose).
  7. Bake your pastry for 10 to 15 minutes.
  8. Take out the pastry of the oven, remove the baking sheet.
  9. Slice the rhubarb. Mix the rhubarb slices with the sugar and arrange on the prebaked pastry.
  10. Mix the cream with the two eggs, pour over the rhubarb.
  11. Bake in the oven for another 20 to 25 minutes.
  12. Leave to cool a little before serving.
One Comment Add yours

  1. I will get the kids to grow some rhubarb now!

Leave a Reply

