Buttermilk flatbreads

My most recent culinary “discovery” has been the combination of buttermilk and baking soda. It makes American style pancakes soft and fluffy, and you can whisk up homemeade soda bread on a Sunday afternoon when you have run out of bread, and you will be ready for dinner in less than an hour!

Here my idea was to make some very easy flatbreads that can simply be mixed and poured into a pan rather like a pancake. I love tortillas and flatbreads, but I hate the mess I make in the kitchen when I have to roll out a dough, as inevitably I end up with flour everywhere: the kitchen counters, the floor, and you can bet that even my just-cleaned dishes will get a dusting! So here is what I came up with that is a lovely alternative for a homemade tortilla or wrap, without the effort and hassle.

Ingredients for 3 flatbreads (multiply accordingly if you want to feed not only yourself but also your family): 100g white flour, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 200ml buttermilk, some rapeseed oil for frying

Method:

  1. Mix the flour, baking soda and salt.
  2. Add the buttermilk and mix together.
  3. Heat some oil in a pan (I used a stainless steel pan)
  4. Pour in a ladle of batter into the hot pan. Use a spatula to spread the batter around the pan.
  5. Fry the flatbread over medium to low heat. NOW BE PATIENT. Do not try to turn the flatbread too early, as it will break (though do not burn it, either).
  6. Turn and fry for a minute on the other side.
  7. Serve.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds delicious!!!! 🙂

  2. Scuttlebutter says:

    Love the fact you’re blogging! Can I send through a request list, please?

    1. A request list … now I am curious…

Leave a Reply

